WHERE IS THIS BOX

aspergineering.com/blog

It occasionally takes me time to unravel the most obvious things.

Earlier today I noticed that the Sonic State Podcast which I participate in had the word CLEAN next to it in iTunes. Surmising that it was broken I set about fixing it and subsequently downloaded about 2GB of data. The word ‘clean’ still didn’t go away.

I finally realised that it didn’t mean it was broken at all, it meant that there was no explicit language (Nick does a great job of editing it 🙂

The same thing happened with the phrase “thinking outside the box”. I don’t seem to have one. Boxes are generally cuboid and I don’t see anything like that when I look in the mirror.

Maybe they’re talking metaphorically about the involuntary thought processes that we all have rattling around in our heads?

The thinker perhaps?

Perhaps thinking outside the box means “thinking outside the thinker” or to put it another way, becoming the observer of our own thought processes and recognising them as separate from us.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I first learned to do this while on Ecstasy. The great thing about it is, once I found out about it, I could simply choose to switch off the noise of thought and enjoy my creative process. That’s provided that I didn’t choose to put up twenty years of resistance to the process, which of course I did and it’s another long story you can read about in my book.

For most people with Aspergers, all inner dialogue is verbalised unless the operator learns to switch it off. High functioning autistics identify with the thinker. It is the logical thing to do. Yet, it torments us the most.

My tormentor runs into overdrive when I am stressed and need to make complex decisions about what is happening socially.

On one level for me, “thinking outside the box” means “ignore all thoughts and focus on my original goal”.

Learning to still the mind is one way to freedom. Creating a vision before setting out to do anything is another. Once that goal is set it doesn’t really matter what the idiot in the box is doing, ignore all their negative thoughts and do it anyway.

And the most fun you can have with this is to do something that terrifies you.

Pick something. In doing it and at that moment of fear…

Recognise your creativity.

Harness your creativity.

Embrace your creativity.

