Okay, Love You, Bye…

blog.aspergineering.com

I was in a local shop buying a present for the Mrs, my phone rang, it was her…

I finished the conversation with “okay, love you, bye”.

The shop keeper who knows us both asked if she was in town as well. Her husband, who is also called Mark piped up “no that was the phone company he says that to everyone”.

We batted the idea around in conversation for a bit and I said “but why don’t people end conversations like that”.

The other Mark suggested it wouldn’t be a good idea because people might hit you.

That’s twice I’ve been told that in two days.

Is this really what people believe?

Is this what stops people?

The idea that they are going to get physically hurt.

I think it would take a lot more than a sour face, or an “I Love You” to wind the average person up enough to hurt you.

“I am going to make it my New Year’s resolution” I announced.

“I am going to end every conversation with Love You, Bye”.

I paid for my things and left to a chorus of “have a nice Christmas and don’t forget to say you love us”.

I am still undecided.

If I do it for phone conversations, then the difficulties will include my ex-wife, the director of the choir, my accountant, my neighbour, our estate agent, taxi companies, my bank, my credit card company, actually the list goes on.

My partner asked if I wanted more love in my life.

I said “nope, I am quite okay with the amount of love I have in my life. I would like to feel more joy though… On an on-going basis, perhaps experience inner peace and real happiness”.

Anyway, I’ve toyed with a few other endings for conversations.

Any ideas?

Comments always welcome.

See you on the other side of the looking glass.

Mark Ty-Wharton.

