Literal Sales Techniques To Expand The Mind

blog.aspergineering.com

I called Kindred Spirit Magazine today and spoke with Tania, in editorial.

I asked her if she had received my book for review.

Apparently Kindred Spirit receive a hundred books a month and only pick a handful to read.

Mine is not it her hand 😦

I asked the question, “so what can I do to have you review my book, if I sent you fifty copies would it help?”.

“I don’t know” she said, “why would you want to do that?”

“Perhaps it would increase my chances, statistically” I replied.

I was met with stunned silence, then she said, “this conversation is really weird, I don’t think I’ve had a conversation like this before”.

“I’ll explain that” I said, “I have Aspergers and I don’t always subscribe to doing things in a socially acceptable way, I want you to read my book because it is a different take on the kind of stuff you normally review and it’s well written, humorous and even enlightening”.

Longer stunned silence, then eventually.

“Erm, how do I know the other one hundred books I receive which are all equally well written are not more worthy of a review” she replied.

“Okay, I’ll give you that” I said, “you won’t until you’ve read mine, so if you won’t review my book, then why don’t you send someone to interview me about it? You could do that”.

“Erm, erm, err…”

She almost seemed to want to…

Except, she went on to tell me all the reasons why a bi-monthly publication found it so hard to fit relevant and current material that was journalistically appropriate into their magazine and how by the time she had interviewed me it would be too late and wouldn’t be news any more.

“I can help you with that” I said, “I am sure I can manage something newsworthy, when would you like me to do it?”.

“Look, NO” she said.

I wonder if she would have these limiting beliefs if she had read the first chapter of my book, I thought.

“Okay, I’ll accept your NO for the moment” I said, “however should you choose to change your mind, please don’t hesitate to call me”.

“Well I won’t forget this call that’s for sure” she replied, “you are certainly persistent”.

“I am” I said. “I really appreciate your time and look forward to speaking with you again”.

I put down the phone and smiled at my own authenticity.

If you would like to see a review of my book in Kindred Spirit, please email tania.ahsan@metropolis.co.uk and ask her to write one.

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

creative thinker | innovator | visionary

1 Comment

  1. Well Mark,

    Being a writer, myself. I have been on your side. And persistance pays off. JK Rowling was turned down over seven times for Harry Potter. Can you imagine the agents kicking themselves now?? You have to be a thorn in someone’s backside. You have to believe in yourself and your work. I did write Ms. Ashan a letter requesting a review- if anything it will give her magazine new and different readers. Win-win!

    Like

Comments are closed.