The Voice Of Autism

blog.aspergineering.com

So here I am driving in my car.
I get that my life is real, I am who I am, I live my truth.
But I also get, that my truth is just a story and I could play the circumstances of my life so many other ways.
Stuff happens, we link the in-between with a story line.
We are not free to act, we act to be free.

Story time…

I am a 46 year old adult male.
People constantly tell me, I can come across as overtly negative. About life, about myself, about others.
I also get that it is NOT part of my story.

I am by nature a problem solver and I also spot detail. If there is the tiniest problem in the smallest detail I will notice (and mention) it as a service to others.

Going to buy a used car?
I am the guy to take with you if you want to nail the salesman on the deal.
Thinking of starting up in business or getting into a relationship?
Or any other area where imperfection would be perfect?
Don’t run the idea by me 🙂

While I make negative statements about things, I don’t tend to dwell on them.
They are a driver for betterment.

The story I have currently chosen to run my life from one moment to the next actually turns out to be a very positive and optimistic one.

It goes like this.

I found out I have Asperger Syndrome a few years back and it makes light of my failures. I get to be kind to myself, accept myself a lot and say it is okay I couldn’t do X, or Z, or even Y.
I also have successes where any normal person would have failed, so what am I really missing out on?

I can be angry and frustrated about my past at times, which comes across as negative, yet is a driver to for the future.
I do determination well!

Does it serve me?

A mixed bag. If I strive to do this better, I can have that.

So what of the future?

Because I have successes where any normal person would have failed, I can play on my strengths.
One of my strengths is, I know I can succeed.

But, can I use Asperger Syndrome as my get out clause?

I could and rarely choose to.
I have Asperger Syndrome, so compared to others I am disabled; I only have limited value as a human being – I am doing my best, poor me.

What I realise is…

Poor me takes more energy and effort to sustain than “what’s possible?”

Part of the problem is, I was born into a society that said it has to be a certain way.
Flying in the face of the conventional (even when I think I am not) has never been easy.

My point being?

Roughly 1% of adults have been diagnosed with an autistic spectrum disorder, perhaps more?

They need a voice.

A voice with experience.

My story is, I am that guy.

What makes me special?

What makes me the spokesperson for Autism as opposed to the “WE ARE NOT DISABLED” activists who are FIGHTING their cause…

First and foremost, I know I am disabled.

I accept the limitations of having an autistic mindset, in fact some of them are darn right funny.
I accept I am not going to do well socially and even accept some things I say to some people might upset them.
I accept I get fixated on things and see solutions to problems in a very black or white way.
I might even forget to shave, or wash once in a while. I don’t like hairdressers, or dentists. I refuse to take medication and I have very fixed ideas (about a lot of things).
I may even frighten your children, or you – if I pay your kids too much attention, talk to them like they are adults, or find them more interesting than you!

I also accept a lot of the above can be dealt with for younger people with Asperger Syndrome by educating both them and the adults supporting them.
I am very open to the idea I can constantly update my own logical database of possible scenarios to improve my social relationships.
In otherwords I am not waging a war aganst normal people.

But what of the strengths?

Autism has a place in society.

For me, being overtly negative aboout it, is a driver to find a more positive aspect.

I am that guy.

Autism?

Strengths?

Mine?

My ability to write this, open your mind with words, make you think?

Yours?

An autistic mind on your board of directors?

We already know where that can lead!

Type “List Of Famous People With Aspergers” into Google and see what you get!

An autistic think tank?

Where minds meet genius?

Are you ready yet?

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

creative thinker | innovator | visionary
Mark Ty-Wharton, author of The Logic Of Attraction.

Get your copy now: http://stores.lulu.com/logicofattraction

Listen to my podcast: http://podcast.aspergineering.com

Schedule me to speak at your event: http://www.aspergineering.com

Tweet with me on twitter http://twitter.com/mark_tywharton

