No Such Thing AS Autism

I have been writing about my mood swings of late. Actually, they are nothing new, I have just noticed them more in the past few weeks.

Often awareness gives us the power to change, by whatever means. However, looking back at my posts, I decided to delete them.

While it is a severe situation, the posts were not a report of the facts, they were a complaint.

Just because I have the technology to type, even when I don’t want to get out of bed, doesn’t mean I should.

I justified my posts by telling myself, “if I am authentic about my experiences, it might help someone else”.

But what if, a problem shared is a problem doubled?

I am not saying people shouldn’t seek help, I am saying help should be sought from an appropriate person.

I think the analogy is “only complain to someone who can do something about it”.

Except this is where it falls off. When there is nobody prepared to do anything about it, who do you turn to?

FACT 1: In the UK there is no treatment available for autistic adults (unless they have some other condition).

FACT 2: Autistic adults with mental health disorders are generally treated using the same basic criteria that would be applied to a neurologically typical adult.

I don’t need to spell out the pitfalls of that one!

FACT 3: Many doctors still believe “there is no such thing as Asperger Syndrome”.

Because they have a different style of communication, autistic adults need a different route into the system.

At least one doctor at any practice could be trained to understand autism. Doctors with a partner with an interest could display a sign.

After forty odd years of appearing to be OK, I pretend to fit in.

It takes a person with considerable skill and understanding to get that I don’t.

So who do I complain to?

I don’t want to set up a campaign to deal with the issue. However, if you do, I want to speak at your events!

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

mark ty-wharton

2 Comments

  1. Hi Mark,

    Love the post. Here’s a quick thought. You wrote, ““only complain to someone who can do something about it”.

    Quick comment, we almost NEVER know who can and who can’t do something about it. Obviously, odds are most street beggars couldn’t help, but maybe, just maybe…

    Sharing with the world, with as much of a positive intention as we can muster (even if it’s not much)…. maybe that is what could make the difference.

    I truly believe that you are on the cutting edge. Me too. And that means among other things, we get to get CUT.

    Hugs bro,

    Mr Twenty Twenty

    Like

  2. OK remove the posts from public availability but save them for yourself, at least temporarily, as I think they are speaking to you. Maybe when read the posts as a 3rd party they will give insight.

    You often imply that not ‘fitting in’ is particular to those with Aspbergers. This is a human condition. I have never felt I fitted in. I always feel on the outside but I now understand that I am standing alone with 95% of the worlds population. I remember touring with you and your brother in the early 90s. Everyone seemed at one except for me. I felt wholly out of place while you seemed to be comfortable with the changing environments and people.

    Like

Comments are closed.