People with Autism Rarely Judge Others

After reading the top ten terrific traits of autistic people, as an person diagnosed as being on the autistic spectrum who hates generalisations, I feel I can do the subject justice by passing a more specific comment on each of the ten points.

Lisa Jo Rudy writes:

If you’re sick of hearing about all the “deficits” challenging people on the autism spectrum, join the club. But for every down side to autism, there seems to be a positive — an unusual trait that rarely appears among the “typical” community, but shines out among autistic folk. These plusses are well worth celebrating.

So today, I want to look at trait number three.

3. People with Autism Rarely Judge Others
Who’s fatter? Richer? Smarter? For people on the autism spectrum, these distinctions hold much less importance than for typical folks. In fact, people on the spectrum often see through such surface appearances to discover the real person.

I need to think quite carefully before addressing this issue and addressing it clearly will be a challenge.

What is true for me is that I reserve judgement on all people until I have known them for a considerable length of time.

This caution can be mistaken for an open outlook. I often sit on the fence until a person has shown their true colours, giving certain individuals the benefit of doubt long after others have walked away licking their wounds.

However, it is easy for me to observe that the surface stuff changes radically on a moment by moment basis.

Perhaps one of the most frustrating things about neuro-typical people is their malleability in character.

Neuro-typical people often play a different ‘part’ for each person they meet and while they are not in anyway being inauthentic, as a person on the autistic spectrum, I feel completely fake when I try to emulate this.

Best I can do is hide certain traits if I need to fit in.

Who is fatter?

I cannot stand thin women. Perhaps it is what they stand for that really annoys me? Certain colleagues wives look like they would snap in two if you had proper sex with them. On the other hand a woman needs to be light enough to throw around a bit. But hey, I am a strong guy, bring it on. It matters!

Richer?

Just don’t get me started on money. What an issue that is for me right now. I tend to be significant about money when I haven’t got any, but money really isn’t the problem though. The distinction money is irrelevant then. The person behind the money? I know some very generous millionaires and some very tight ones! Okay, I’ll admit it. The amount of money a person has, or what they do with it, rarely sways my opinion of them. Fairness would be where I would judge.

The real person?

Now, you are absolutely talking the truth. I see you. I really do. I see you. All of you and more.

Anurajyati (be in love!),

Mark Ty-Wharton

[contact-form-7 id=”3325″ title=”Sig”]

2 Comments

Comments are closed.