Autistic People Are Passionate

After reading the top ten terrific traits of autistic people, as an person diagnosed as being on the autistic spectrum who hates generalisations, I feel I can do the subject justice by passing a more specific comment on each of the ten points.

Lisa Jo Rudy writes:

If you’re sick of hearing about all the “deficits” challenging people on the autism spectrum, join the club. But for every down side to autism, there seems to be a positive — an unusual trait that rarely appears among the “typical” community, but shines out among autistic folk. These plusses are well worth celebrating.

So today, I want to look at trait number four.

4. Autistic People are Passionate
Of course, not all autistic people are alike. But many are truly passionate about the things, ideas and people in their lives. How many “typical” people can say the same?

Wow!

Passion, there is a concept for an emotionless Spock like creature with no friends!

Am I passionate?

An all consuming intense love for…

Hmmmm

Better get out the dictionary.

Ah 🙂

The dictionary tells me that passion is caused by strong feelings, a barely controllable emotion, an intense enthusiasm for something.

Clearly my special interests follow this psychological model and I am way more animated when I talk about them, but passion?

It never looks like passion to the “typical” observer, so I am not so sure.

Today’s intense focus, a laser sharp obsession, an “I must do this thing” can be defined as barely controllable.

Strong minded?

Clearly!

I, however have to exaggerate to appear passionate and it seems like I am faking it.

By definition, perhaps it is passion?

Compared to the common understanding of the word, I think I am the “not all autistic people are alike”

Anurajyati (be in love!),

Mark Ty-Wharton

[contact-form-7 id=”3325″ title=”Sig”]

