2012 The Age Of Steam

It is when you sit down next to someone much older than yourself and you start talking that conversation suddenly finds a way of becoming fresh and fascinating.

It is as if the age gap provides the space for new ideas to show up.

I am sitting discussing MG/Rover with Roger, who is 87. He is telling me how his car ended up as scrap in France when it broke down.

“Was it the cambelt”? I ask.

And as the story progresses, it turns out the garage who fitted the cambelt disappeared by the time he returned from his holiday, while MG/Rover simply refused to take responsibility.

We discuss Peugeot next and Marshalls of St Neots.

We agree that Peugeot make great cars, but Marshalls?

“I won’t use them any more” I venture “too many broken promises”.

“Me neither” says Roger.

We get on to electric vehicles and Roger quite rightly points out that we are still going to need fossil fuels for planes.

“If you made electric planes, there would be no room for anything else once you filled it with batteries”.

Then he said something even more gripping.

“It makes me laugh you know, all this technology, when they say we are no longer in the age of steam”.

I am puzzled.

“Turbines” he says “what do you think turns turbines”?

“Oh sure, what, like power stations”? I reply “I suppose coal fired power stations must use steam”.

“And nuclear power stations” he explains.

“Nuclear Fision creates the heat, which makes steam and turns a turbine”

Steam!

So we live in the age of steam…

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

Anurajyati (be in love!)

Mark Ty Wharton

[contact-form-7 id=”3325″ title=”Sig”]

