Improbability 1,000,000:1 and counting…

Emily Alexander

Emily Alexander

I was just at Stondonbury ReUse Boot with my friend Emily and the most unpredictable thing happened.

I was drawn towards a card game from the 1930s and duly bought it.

Emily asked if I had bought anything and I showed her.

“Oh look, it’s a naming game” she took the box from me for a closer look.

“Will you shuffle the pack and find me a new name” she asked.

I gave them a quick shuffle.

When I read for people, there is usually a focus, but I barely shuffled the pack and pulling off the top card I said “oh look, you can be called Emily”

It gets weirder.

Emily’s mother’s maiden name is Alexander and she has been using that name.

Look at the card!

Now, Alexander doesn’t begin with E and I am sure there are thousands of decks out there in the world.

And we can create stories about the total improbability of the whole thing.

I had a 1 in 52 chance of pulling the card.

But what were the chances of me actually being there to buy the pack?

And what were the chances of Emily and I having the conversation?

I am telling you, something is going on!

And it is beyond ordinary logic.

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

Anurajyati (be in love!)

Mark Ty-Wharton

