NOTHING MUCH HAPPENED

Human beings are driven by the hope that it will turn out okay in the end.

We work for a future, a nest egg, something tucked away for when we get old.

Unless of course we believe something will happen that means we don’t have to do that?

I want to tell you about my ex-future.

I want to tell you why I have nothing saved up for a rainy day.

I met a man on a train who read my cards. He said I would be very famous.

So I sat back. I waited. Nothing much happened.

The band I was in at the time, Dormannu, recorded a session for John Peel.

Fame was imminent, just beyond the horizon.

But that horizon never came.

At some point I thought I had better check to see if he was right.

I visited a woman, in a London, who read my cards.

She said I would be very famous.

So I sat back. I waited. Nothing much happened.

After many years I became concerned.

I asked a friend. She threw some runes. It was clear. She said I would be very famous.

I relaxed, sat back, waited.

Nothing much happened.

I started to work when I was fifteen, now I am fifty.

It seems as I approach the end of my working life, nothing much has happened.

There was some occasional work in the mean time.

I produced some records, you might have heard them?

Likely as not, you haven’t.

I have lived life in a paradigm called “I am going to be very famous.”

And what you heard from me, happened in the mean time, but was never enough.

This life has been frustrating.

I think I lived into a future that I felt I didn’t have to work for.

I loved the inevitability of it, but boy I suffered.

So here I am.

In a few years I will retire with no pension.

Some time after that they will chisel my epitaph.

HERE LIES MARK TY-WHARTON

AKA MARK TINLEY

NOTHING MUCH HAPPENED

So how can I change all that?

Perhaps what there is to recognise is that nobody knows the future.

It is the future we create which gives us who we are being in the present moment.

If I create a future of inevitable fame and fortune, or allow someone else to create that for me (I personally think Clairvoyants and Psychics are a dangerous phenomena), then I become complacent and lazy.

If I declare a future I have to work for, which lights me up, then my way of being in the present is given by that possibility.

I actually don’t want to be famous.

But I would like you to buy my book or my music, so that I can put food on the table.

If something happens in your life, out of reading something I have written or from listening to my music, please let me know.

You can make a comment in the box below.

Without your input my life will always seem to be:

NOTHING MUCH HAPPENED

At least if you comment, I will be able to update my epitaph.

And right now I want you to know, I am working on an audio version of The Logic Of Attraction which will be published shortly.

See you on the other side of the looking glass,

Anurajyati (be in love!)

Mark Ty-Wharton

